Friends of Sullivan
Posted on 09/22/2020
Built in 1914, the Louis Sullivan Building of Newark opened its doors on August 25, 1915 as the Home Building Association Bank, or “The Old Home.” One of only eight “jewel box” banks designed by noted American architect Louis Sullivan, the building is a national treasure - and a treasure of Central Ohio’s heritage. In 2013, the Licking County Foundation received the building as a gift from Newark native Stephen Jones. The Licking County Foundation oversees its restoration and transformation as the future home of Explore Licking County.
A dedicated group of local citizens who met at the building’s centennial celebration in 2015 saw the importance of the restoration. Inspired to raise funds and educate the community about the significance of the Old Home Bank, they formed the Friends of Sullivan, which now operates as a Committee of the Licking County Foundation to help secure support for the Friends of Sullivan Community Project Fund. Anyone interested in preserving and promoting the restoration is welcome to join.
The Friends’ latest project is a children’s book, “Journey to a Jewel Box.” Author Dianne Dayhuff Kimball and illustrator Lizz Ivy Beck tell the story of the famous bank through the eyes of a curious child, helping young readers explore the building’s past as well as its celebrated architect. It will be released this fall and available through the Licking County Foundation and Explore Licking County.
“There is a great energy throughout Licking County and especially in Newark,” notes Janet Procida, founding member and Friends of Sullivan chairperson. “The beautiful work in restoring buildings around Newark and beyond has brought a renewed life to the city and brought people together in a common goal.”
Due to COVID, tours of the building have been temporarily suspended. Readers are encouraged to visit thelcfoundation.org/Sullivan to learn more.